There is no worse news than hearing that a loved one of your loved ones just passed away. Imagine coming home from work and waiting for your loved one to walk through the door, but they never do. Imagine hearing that a loved one was injured at work. As you rush to the hospital to meet them you get that sinking feeling that something really isn’t right. Upon arrival, you are informed that your loved one has died due to a work-related injury. This hard-hitting news is never easy, but you have rights and are entitled to compensation for the loss of your loved one.
During tragic times of grieving for a loved one, the last thing you want to do is paperwork or keep track of a claim for workers compensation. Our Workers Compensation Attorneys at JML Law, a Professional Law Corporation in Long Beach promise to handle your case with utmost sensitivity and empathy. With over 40 years of experience, we have witnessed hardship after hardship that loved ones face after losing a member of the family. Especially when that loved one was the main income provider or a vital part of the family income.
Please know that you are not the only experiencing this horrific traumatic event. You are not the first to deal with losing a loved one. Our Workers Compensation Attorneys are here to guide you through the legal process ensuring that we keep you updated all the way. Let us help you fight for the compensation needed to support you and your family as your loved one’s death resulted from a workplace injury.
California Death Regulations
California changed the way they approach death in workers compensation in 2013. Thankfully this change drastically improved the way deaths compensations were provided. For example, if the death was caused by an injury at work, the family of the deceased worker would receive up to $5000 in funeral expenses. Now, the policy is for up to $10,000. This does not mean that you will receive $10,000 automatically. This is why you need a Workers Compensation Attorney by your side to advocate for you and your families needs.
Workers compensation claims help insurance companies have a better understanding of the injury, cause of the injury, and the kind of recovery needed. If your loved one’s injury lead to their death, then these claims look very different. The assessment becomes not just about time lost, but wages lost for a lifetime. When someone dies on the job, there is a set minimum of $224 a week that will be provided to your family. This is the minimum. Let our Workers Compensation Attorneys work to increase that number.
Call 818-610-8800 or click here to start a conversation with our Workers Compensation Attorneys at JML Law, a Professional Law Corporation. We will work aggressively on your case to ensure that your family gets the compensation needed to get your life back as much as it can after such devastating news.
Get Your Questions Answered.
Contact Our Lawyers.
Every case is unique and needs to be evaluated by our
experienced lawyers. If you have been injured in a work-related accident,
give us a call at 818-610-8800 or send us an email to schedule a free initial consultation. There is no risk to meet with us. We get paid only if we win your claim.