Hard working reliable employees often find that their employers do not want to pay them the commissions they earned before they were terminated. If your employer, either current or former, has not paid you the commissions you have already rightfully earned, call JML Law offices in Long Beach today at 818-610-8800 to speak to an attorney who specializes in commissions law. Do not let an employer take advantage of you or withhold wages you have earned. All wages and/or commissions earned are due within a specific time period set by law. Contact JML Law for a free consultation today.
Does California Have Laws Regarding Jobs Based On Commissions?
In California, employers can choose to pay their employees based on commissions instead of or in addition to a salary. According to California employment law, any employer “who enters into a contract of employment involving commissions as a method of payment with an employee for services to be rendered within the state to put the contract in writing and to set forth the method by which the commissions are required to be computed and paid.” This means that, under California law, a contract is required between both the employee and employer for commissions based work. This contract must have detailed in it exactly how commissions are to be calculated and paid. If your employer has not held up their end of the contract and has not paid you for commissions you have earned, you need to hire an attorney. The employer should not only cover all unpaid commissions and attorney’s fees but may also be open to receiving fines or penalties from the state. Contact JML Law today in Long Beach at 818-610-8800. Speak with one of our attorneys today and get informed of what your rights are and how we can recover your unpaid commissions.
Does California Have Laws To Protect Employees Who Work On Commissions?
Earning a paycheck based on commissions is hard work. California does have laws protecting employees who work on commissions. Employment laws in California state that, typically, your employer must pay you all wages on the last day of employment unless you did not give 72 hours notice to your employer. If a 72-hour notice was not given, your employer has 72 hours to pay you. However, if it is unreasonable for your employer to calculate the exact commissions earned within 72 hours of the end of your employment, they must pay your commissions as soon as it is able to be calculated.
Contact JML Law in Long Beach today at 818-610-8800 to speak with an attorney and discuss what your rights are. You can also visit our website at www.jmllaw.com to request a free consultation. If we are not successful at achieving compensation for your claim, you are not responsible for the payment of attorney fees. Do not hesitate to gain legal representation. Meet with our employment law attorneys who are experts on commission laws and allow us to assess your dispute.
Get Your Questions Answered.
Contact Our Lawyers.
Every case is unique and needs to be evaluated by our
experienced lawyers. If you have been injured in a work-related accident,
give us a call at 818-610-8800 or send us an email to schedule a free initial consultation. There is no risk to meet with us. We get paid only if we win your claim.