According to Long Beach, California wage laws, the minimum wage will increase hourly each year from January 2017 to January 2022. When applying for a job, all wages and employment responsibilities are usually outlined in an employment contract before you begin. Unfortunately, sometimes an employer might try and take advantage of their employee(s) by either giving the employee misleading wage information or assuming their employees are not going to report instances of unpaid work. Contact JML Law in Long Beach at 818-610-8800 if your employer has under-compensated you.
The following California wage laws and regulations are upheld in Long Beach and have few acceptions.
- Employees who perform at least two hours of work a week are entitled to minimum wage.
- The minimum wage in California will increase each year from January 2017 to January 2022.
- Employers are required to abide by both federal and state minimum wage laws. There are some exceptions to these requirements and certain cities or counties can enact their own minimum wages. An employer is required to pay their employees the most beneficial minimum wage, whether it be the federal minimum wage, California’s, or the minimum wage of their district/city/county.
- An employee can not legally agree to work for under minimum wage and an employer can not ask or demand them to.
There are federal and state employment laws that govern what employers must pay their non-exempt employees. (For a list of exempt jobs click here) Employers can require their employees to work scheduled overtime, however, a typical issue with employers is the willingness to acknowledge and/or pay their employee(s) for overtime. The California laws on overtime are:
- Overtime pay is one and a half times the employee’s set hourly wage
- Any hours worked after 8 hours in one day
- Overtime pay is double the employee’s set hourly wage if they work over 12 hours in one day
- Any hours worked after 40 hours in a week
- Overtime is double the set hourly wage after the 8th hour worked on the 7th consecutive day
- Overtime must be paid to the employee who has worked overtime regardless of whether or not it was authorized by the employer
- An employer can punish an employee for working unauthorized overtime
- An employee can not hide unauthorized overtime and later request payment from their employer
- Hours paid for sick-leave, vacation days, or holiday-pay (when off) do not count towards overtime
What To Do
Do not let your employer take advantage of your need for a paycheck. Wage laws are there to protect and guarantee your worker’s rights. Contact JML Law in Long Beach at 818-610-8800 to speak with an attorney who has experience in wage and hour laws if your employer has failed to pay you for all hours worked, minimum wage, overtime, or for breaks during the workday. Let our attorneys enforce your worker’s rights, demand the correct and complete compensation for your work, and ensure you are not retaliated against by your employer.
Get Your Questions Answered.
Contact Our Lawyers.
Every case is unique and needs to be evaluated by our
experienced lawyers. If you have been injured in a work-related accident,
give us a call at 818-610-8800 or send us an email to schedule a free initial consultation. There is no risk to meet with us. We get paid only if we win your claim.