If you or a loved one get hurt at work, you should not have to worry about whether or not you will get compensation. Unfortunately, we know that there are times when workers’ compensation claims are delayed or denied. If you need a Riverside workers’ compensation lawyer, you can count on us to be by your side. The qualified and skilled team at JML Law will investigate all aspects of your case so we can secure the compensation you deserve.
How common are workplace injuries?
Nonfatal workplace injuries and illnesses are common in the United States. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) says that there were approximately 2.8 million injury claims made during the latest reporting year.
California is a leader when it comes to worker protections. Nearly all employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance for their employees. Failing to do so can result in criminal penalties, including jail time and fines.
How long do I have to file a claim?
It is important to seek medical assistance and report an injury as soon as you are aware it has happened. In most cases, you have 30 days from the time an injury occurs to report it. However, this 30-day period may be adjusted depending on the type of injury (repetitive stress injuries and exposure injuries generally occur over time but should be reported within 30 days of their discovery).
What happens if I am denied a workers’ comp claim?
Workers’ compensation claims in California are considered “no-fault.” This means that an injured worker should receive compensation for their injuries regardless of who caused the injury. However, there are exceptions to this. A person may be denied coverage if:
- The injury did not occur at work (such as the commute to and from work or during an unpaid break period).
- You were grossly negligent in causing your injury, including impairment on drugs and alcohol at the time of the incident.
- You did not seek medical treatment for your injury or discontinued a doctor’s treatment orders.
Can my employer retaliate against me for making a claim?
Your employer is prohibited by law from retaliating against you for making a legitimate workers’ compensation claim. This includes:
- Firing you
- Reassigning you
- Demoting you
- Cutting your salary
- Making you perform duties a doctor has prohibited
- Prohibiting you from seeking witnesses to the accident
If your employer has retaliated against you, please seek help from a Riverside workers’ compensation attorney.
What kind of compensation could I get?
If you or a loved one have been injured in a workplace incident but are struggling to get the compensation you need, please seek legal assistance now. At JML Law, we are ready to get to work investigating your case and advocating on your behalf. Our goal is to secure compensation for all of your injury-related expenses, including:
- Your medical expenses related to the incident
- Lost wages and benefits if you cannot work
- Pain and suffering damages
- Loss of personal enjoyment damages
- Possible punitive damages against those responsible
If you need a Riverside workers’ compensation attorney, you can contact us by clicking here or calling us at 818-610-8800 for a free consultation today.
Get Your Questions Answered. Contact Our Lawyers.
Every case is unique and needs to be evaluated by our experienced lawyers. If you have been injured in a work-related accident, give us a call at 818-610-8800 or send us an email to schedule a free initial consultation. There is no risk to meet with us. We get paid only if we win your claim.